Senior Garrett Vincent wins Mr. PHS


On March 13, 15 senior boys joined together in the Ruth Usugi Auditorium for their chance to become the next Mr. PHS. Each candidate was sponsored by a school club, sport or organization.
The contenders included Keegan Anderson, Jacob Babcock, Chaz Becht, Steven Butler, Dawson Easterday, Parker Gehl, Hunter Hamilton, Jared Herd, Damon Ingle, Travis Mefford, Hunter Rohl, Dayton Satterfield, Dietrich Sears, Garrett Vincent and Noah Weiss.
Each competitor had a senior girl coordinator to help with the big night. These coordinators included Alyssa Wilson, Ali Kerby, Harli Wilder, Sierra Rodewig, Anna Hutcheson, Lindsay Morasch, Devan Smith, Jorja Davis, Rachel Lowe, Livia Sullivan, Bailey Bush, Marixa Oceguera, Callie Baker, Allie Lowe and Kennedy Embry.
The night featured categories including an onstage question, a fitness challenge, talent and formal wear. After all bills and cash prizes were paid, around $2,400 was made to help fund the PHS prom.
Jacob Babcock took home the win for People’s Choice Award.
“My favorite part was watching my buddies step out of their comfort zone and do some funny stuff,” said Babcock
Garrett Vincent walked away with the win, becoming the 2018 Mr. PHS.
“Mr. PHS was a very fun event that raised a lot of money for a good cause. I was really surprised I won because we had so many awesome guys taking part in it,” said Vincent.


Story by Maggie Vincent